Digital Decarbonization

Nineteen of the twenty warmest years to date have occurred since the turn of the millennium. Weather extremes are increasing more and more. These phenomena are due to the concentration of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere, which has been steadily increasing since the beginning of industrialization. – We must act now.


Digital Decarbonization Icon by Oliver D. Doleski | Thomas Kaiser | Michael Metzger | Stefan Niessen | Sebastian Thiem

How can digital technologies help tackle climate change?

Digitalization leverages a whole bundle of new technologies that transform analog information into digital information. Digital technology today enables real-time insights as well as predictions and even autonomous interventions in systems of all types. The focus is consistently on data, which are also required for the intelligent management of energy resources and consumption. A substantial benefit for saving the climate! After all, the better an energy system is optimized by digitalization, the fewer greenhouse gases are then released.


Digital Decarbonization Icon by Oliver D. Doleski | Thomas Kaiser | Michael Metzger | Stefan Niessen | Sebastian Thiem

What is meant by energy systems?

Energy systems are understood as the sum of all power plants, solar plants, wind turbines, electrical devices, etc. installed in a location or region. Accordingly, these are technical components that generate or consume energy. Physically correct, however, we should speak about energy conversion.


Digital Decarbonization Icon by Oliver D. Doleski | Thomas Kaiser | Michael Metzger | Stefan Niessen | Sebastian Thiem

What’s new about Digital Decarbonization?

Digital Decarbonization goes far beyond conventional optimization approaches when planning and controlling energy systems. Here, neither the performance of each individual energy plant is optimized in isolation, nor any energy-intensive processes are only upgraded by digital technology. Experience shows that these conventional approaches often fall short. Significant improvement potential for more climate protection remains unutilized as a result.

Digital Decarbonization first creates a digital twin of the existing energy system. This digital model enables optimal planning in terms of type, design and configuration for all the components in consideration, such as power plants, solar plants, grids and machines. In addition, Digital Decarbonization ultimately also enables energy-efficient normal operation of energy systems on a minute-by-minute basis and thereby an overall reduction in CO2 emissions.


Digital Decarbonization Icon by Oliver D. Doleski | Thomas Kaiser | Michael Metzger | Stefan Niessen | Sebastian Thiem

Which sectors are particularly relevant to Digital Decarbonization?

At first glance, the focus is on the energy industry itself, but that would be oversimplifying. It is precisely the integrative optimization of the users’ perspective, i.e., transportation, infrastructure for public services, commercial and residential buildings and, of course, all industries as well as agriculture, that must be mapped out in logical clusters. The already popular Smart City, for example, constitutes such a cluster.

All sectors and their interactions between each other are to be considered in order to identify the best possible decarbonization under locally given framework conditions. Accordingly, the decision-makers will be digitally supported in the respective sectors to find both technologically and economically viable solutions for their own decarbonization.


Digital Decarbonization Icon by Oliver D. Doleski | Thomas Kaiser | Michael Metzger | Stefan Niessen | Sebastian Thiem

Which are the cases we have already used Digital Decarbonization for?

Digital Decarbonization has already been used in numerous and economically successful projects. For instance, this system was used to determine an economically viable carbon dioxide savings potential of up to 75 percent by 2030 in the district heating sector for a municipal energy supplier in North Germany.

In another use case, a large industrial dairy, the methodology was able to outline a realistic path for saving up to 40 percent carbon dioxide while keeping costs stable.

Digitale Dekarbonisierung

Neunzehn der zwanzig bislang wärmsten Jahre fallen in die Zeit seit der Jahrtausendwende. Wetterextreme nehmen mehr und mehr zu. Diese Phänomene sind der Konzentration von Treibhausgasen in der Atmosphäre geschuldet, die seit Beginn der Industrialisierung stetig ansteigt. – Wir müssen jetzt handeln.


Digitale Dekarbonisierung Digital Decarbonization Icon by Oliver D. Doleski | Thomas Kaiser | Michael Metzger | Stefan Niessen | Sebastian Thiem

Wie können digitale Technologien bei der Bewältigung des Klimawandels helfen?

Bei der Digitalisierung wird ein ganzes Bündel neuer Technologien eingesetzt, durch die analoge in digitale Informationen umgewandelt werden. Digitaltechnik ermöglicht heute sowohl Erkenntnisse in Echtzeit als auch Vorhersagen und sogar autonome Eingriffe in Systeme aller Art. Im Zentrum stehen dabei stets Daten, die auch für das intelligente Management von Energieressourcen und -verbräuchen benötigt werden. Ein erheblicher Nutzen für die Klimarettung! Denn je optimierter ein Energiesystem dank Digitalisierung arbeitet, desto weniger Treibhaus­gase setzt es frei.


Digital Decarbonization Icon by Oliver D. Doleski | Thomas Kaiser | Michael Metzger | Stefan Niessen | Sebastian Thiem

Was versteht man unter Energiesystemen?

Unter Energiesystemen wird die Summe aller an einem Ort oder Region installierten Kraftwerke, Solaranlagen, Windräder, Elektrogeräte usw. verstanden. Es handelt sich demnach um technische Komponenten, die Energie erzeugen oder auch verbrauchen. Physikalisch korrekt müsste hier allerdings von Wandeln der Energie gesprochen werden.


Digitale Dekarbonisierung Digital Decarbonization Icon by Oliver D. Doleski | Thomas Kaiser | Michael Metzger | Stefan Niessen | Sebastian Thiem

Was ist an Digitaler Dekarbonisierung neu?

Digitale Dekarbonisierung geht weit über die herkömmlichen Optimierungsansätze der Planung und Steuerung von Energiesystemen hinaus. Hier wird weder die Leistung jeder einzelnen Energieanlage für sich isoliert optimiert noch werden energieintensive Prozesse mit digitaler Technik lediglich aufgerüstet. Die Erfahrung zeigt, dass diese gängigen Ansätze häufig zu kurz greifen. Wesentliche Verbesserungspotenziale für mehr Klimaschutz werden so nicht genutzt.

Bei der Digitalen Dekarbonisierung wird zunächst ein digitaler Zwilling oder Digital Twin des bestehenden Energiesystems erstellt. Dieses digitale Modell ermöglicht für alle infrage kommenden Komponenten, wie beispielsweise Kraftwerke, Solaranlagen, Leitungen und Maschinen, eine nach Art, Auslegung und Anordnung optimale Planung. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht Digitale Dekarbonisierung schließlich auch den energieeffizienten Regelbetrieb von Energiesystemen auf Minutenbasis und somit insgesamt eine Reduktion des CO2-Ausstoßes.


Digitale Dekarbonisierung Digital Decarbonization Icon by Oliver D. Doleski | Thomas Kaiser | Michael Metzger | Stefan Niessen | Sebastian Thiem

Welche Sektoren sind bei Digitaler Dekarbonisierung besonders relevant?

Vordergründig steht die Energiewirtschaft selbst im Zentrum, aber das wäre zu klein gedacht. Gerade die integrierende Optimierung der Nutzerseite, also Verkehr, Infrastruktur zur Daseinsvorsorge, Gewerbe- und Wohngebäude und natürlich auch alle Industrien sowie die Landwirtschaft sind in sinnvollen Clustern abzubilden. Die bereits diskutierte Smart City ist beispielsweise ein solcher Cluster.

Es sind alle Sektoren und in deren Wechselwirkung zueinander zu betrachten, um die bestmögliche Dekarbonisierung unter vor Ort gegebenen Rahmenbedingungen zu erkennen. Die Entscheider finden entsprechend in den jeweiligen Sektoren digital unterstützt sowohl technologisch als auch wirtschaftlich tragfähige Lösungen zur eigenen Dekarbonisierung.


Digitale Dekarbonisierung Digital Decarbonization Icon by Oliver D. Doleski | Thomas Kaiser | Michael Metzger | Stefan Niessen | Sebastian Thiem

In welchen Fällen wurde Digitale Dekarbonisierung bereits eingesetzt?

Digitale Dekarbonisierung wurde bereits in zahlreichen Projekten wirtschaftlich eingesetzt. Bei­spielsweise konnte mit diesem System im Bereich der Fernwärme für einen städtischen Ener­gieversorger in Norddeutschland ein ökonomisch darstellbares Einsparpotenzial für Kohlendi­oxid von bis zu 75 Prozent bis zum Jahr 2030 ermittelt werden.

In einem anderen Anwendungsfall, einer industriellen Großmolkerei, konnte die Methode einen realistischen Pfad aufzeigen, wie bei gleichbleibenden Kosten bis zu 40 Prozent Kohlendioxid eingespart werden können.